Home

Date : 12/12/12
Location: Apartment, Vinohrady, Prague, Czech Republic, Europe, The World
Weather: Snowy and cold!
Mood: Pre-Jetlag
Should be: Packing
Listening to: Roommate’s TV show.

Well, I’ve written introductions to Praha for various sources (one on this site and a walking tour for the CEA blog) but my last assignment for the CEA blog was ‘introduce us to your city,’ so here it is, complete with little blurbs about each district.

We’ve entered the phase of our Study Abroad life where we can count the time left in hours…. but that would take a lot of calculations. It’s Wednesday night and I leave Saturday morning. Needless to say, the past few days have been marred with exams, presentations, papers, goodbyes to classmates, and the dreaded…. packing.

Now… I’m pretty good at packing. I came here with a large (60 liter) hiking backpack and a standard-sized rolly bag. Neither of them exceeded the weight or size requirements. However, here’s a brief list of things I’ve purchased in the past 4 months:
-Knee-high boots
-Chess board from Krakow
-Small gifts and trinkets from Krakow, Istanbul, and Venice
-No less than 5 masks from Venice
-Two beer steins from Pilsen
-Textbooks, folders, papers from classes
-Books…. at least 3 novels in French, guides to Istanbul, Budapest, and Prague
-Sweaters and long-sleeved shirts
-A giant poofy parka (okay, technically my mother brought this from home when we rendez-vous’d in Istanbul, and I’ll wear it on the trip home, so that means my other jackets have to be packed instead of worn on the plane.)

Unfortunately that’s beyond even my packing skills. So I have another bag, a small duffel, and now begins the shuffling between the duffel, rolly bag, and hiking bag, making sure each is under the required weight and packed solidly enough that the masks, beer steins, etc don’t get broken! It’s good fun!

After two hours of presentations in Subcultures class today, our teacher pulled out a giant bag full of…. spray paint. Yes, a teacher willingly distributed spray paint to a class full of kids with self-admitted interest in punk, raves, graffiti and other subcultures. Best teacher ever. We headed over to the Lennon Wall, which is of course a legal zone for graffiti, and sprayed to our hearts’ content.

Oh… and I had already made my mark on the wall. Not knowing the spray paint was going to fall into my lap like that, I had wrecked my Industrial Strength Sharpie trying to ink/carve a lyric into the wall. The Lennon Wall is generally covered in optimistic, peaceful Beatles lyrics and people’s names. As I walked up to it yesterday I wasn’t sure what I was going to write, until I uncapped the Sharpie. Then it came to me.

I will never forget, I will never regret

Sound familiar?

I will live my life

It’s from a 30 Seconds To Mars song that really moved me when I was in Japan.

But it's pretty small on the wall, just written along someone else's spray, so it will get covered pretty soon.

But it’s pretty small on the wall, just written along someone else’s spray, so it will get covered pretty soon.

When we went for class it was a group of about 15 of us with a variety of different colors.

Some of my classmates spraying. Thanks, professor!

Some of my classmates spraying. Thanks, professor!

This is me. I look a lot more sketchy/ like a graffiti artist than I realized with my hood up, but I didn't want to wear my nice parka because when I used to spray paint sets for theater, I got backspray on my clothes.

This is me. I look a lot more sketchy/ like a graffiti artist than I realized with my hood up, but I didn’t want to wear my nice parka because when I used to spray paint sets for theater, I got backspray on my clothes.

Hopes up High

So this is the first part of my piece…

Head down low

…And the second part.

Same thing again, just zoomed out so you can see how it fits on this wall, which is covered in layers and layers of paint.

Same thing again, just zoomed out so you can see how it fits on this wall, which is covered in layers and layers of paint.

"All I want is a place to call my own, to mend he hearts of everyone who feels alone. Woah-oh, you know, to keep your hopes up high and your head down low."

“All I want is a place to call my own, to mend the hearts of everyone who feels alone. Woah-oh, you know, to keep your hopes up high and your head down low.”

This lyric is from a band called A Day To Remember. The song, “All I Want,” is inspirational and, as cliche as this sounds, has gotten me through a lot of emotionally trying times. I think this message, ‘hopes up high, head down low,’ is worth remembering, so I chose it for my mark on the Lennon Wall. The music video for the song is pretty cool too- it features a lot of the band’s friends all over the world, singing the lyrics to show unity, and has a kind of punky street-art style, too. Check it out. 

I feel like this chapter is over and it’s time to move on. I technically have the Hobbit premier at midnight tonight, another final tomorrow, and plans to go out and take pictures at the Charles Bridge at sunrise, but after writing on the Lennon Wall, it really seems like my semester is over and it’s time to see what adventure is next.

Leave a Reply

