Home

Date: April 20
Location: Nashville
Watching: How I Met Your Mother (at first I thought it was lame, now I’m four seasons in.)
Mood: Tired (ALWAYS tired)

Well, hey, to the two people who read my blog.

What’s up?

I know if this was a more professional blog, I’d be… well, unemployed. Going this long without an entry is unacceptable. I really enjoy blogging and would love to do more of it in the future, but since this blog started as a travel blog and I haven’t traveled lately, I felt like I didn’t have anything interesting to put up here.

However, I know better- life is interesting. For example, earlier today a cashier named Dimple with shockingly fake green contact lenses put the candle I was buying in a different bag from my other two items (cookies and a bottle of soda, I don’t think they would have gotten in a fight.) You can’t make that stuff up. Her nametag said Dimple and everything. The receipt says ‘your cashier: DIMPLE.’ Not kidding. So that’s interesting, I guess.

The big question that’s been coming at me a lot is “what’s next?” 

I’m graduating from college and so are a lot of my friends- some have secured solid jobs with former internships or with Microsoft in Seattle (okay, that might be one over-achiever in particular,) some are getting married and moving, with hopes that their spouse will support them while they figure out the next step. I’m happy for them, but I don’t really have a plan like that. So when I graduate, I’m going to keep doing what I’m doing- working at a fast-casual restaurant and training Krav Maga. I’m going to take the summer (and maybe fall) to work, take care of myself, eat better, breathe a little, think about the alternatives, maybe hike or camp, see some shows, and get that Mohawk I’ve been dreaming of since I was 15. Oh yeah, sorry to break that to you this way, Mom. Don’t worry, my hair grows fast. I’ve got weddings to attend later in the summer, but it will have grown out enough by then. I have to cut off most of my hair anyways, because it’s so damaged, and for once in my life I have a job that won’t care, so I’m going for it! 

I guess the crazy haircut is a pretty good representation of how I’m taking this summer, this post-graduation, I-still-don’t-know-what-I’m-doing-with-my-life phase. I’m young and the whole world is in front of me. I can take a summer, work a food-service job, pay the bills, and take some time to figure out what I’m going to do next.

The greatest adventures in my life haven’t been planned out minute-by-minute. I’m thinking about Venice, when my friend posted on Facebook and three days later we were in Italy. All we had was a hotel room and the vague concept that gondolas were too expensive but we were going to eat some pizza. Eventually, a life plan will form for me, a path will appear, but until then, I’m going to take it day by day and see what the world has to offer. 

What’s next, I mean after this summer? Maybe a little more travel. A thru-hike of the Appalachian Trail might make a nice series of blog posts. What do you think?

One thought on “Updates, Plans, etc.

  1. First, one completely disagrees with you about frequency of posts. The list of your posts is already dizzying. Have just come back from a month in the Islamic world, where, as you know, trying to drive/control logistics is pretty much against god. Go with the drum you hear.
    Second, second will come later. xoxo

Leave a Reply

